Another Valley Scene

 

P1160079.JPG
On Winsor Newton 140# cp 11 x 14 inches

I am enjoying having scenes like these to make a whole series of paintings. I had originally started this series once I got back from my anniversary visit to the Mendocino coast. Here is the first post with several paintings that I had painted from that experience. Valley Scenes. I am focusing right now on photos that I took of the valley on the way home. I hope to evidently paint paintings from the photos of the coast.

I am enjoying a breakthrough lately with my watercolors. Two things that I have discovered lately, at least for me, is that I prefer now to stand while painting and also I have a board that is tilted at a 45 degree angle, maybe a tad less. I also step away often and tilt my head while viewing from that distance, I find that I am able to assess what is wrong or what I need to do. Learning is a never-ending process and I can live with that.

 

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

13 thoughts on “Another Valley Scene

  1. this is Soooo exciting M!!!
    the depth and the recession is super excellent, really!
    I see how you ‘toned down’ and tamed the yellow greens As they trailed off into the distance… awesome! I am loving this, smiling away 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think working with distant landscapes has helped me to tone down my excitement and go for the bigger picture which of course helps me to rein in my excitement with color and my tendency to go in strong. Nothing wrong with going dramatic but I do need to rein in that wild pony, right? lol I am so very glad that you are loving it. I think that once I get back to being able to paint the river en plein air and studio, it will help with my depiction.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

