Valley Scenes

 

P1160032.JPG
Painting #1 On Winsor Newton #140 11 x 14 inch

On our way back from the coast celebrating our 31 anniversary, I took the opportunity to snap several dozen photos while driving into the valley area on the other side of Clear Lake, California. I somehow was able to capture the beauty of the landscape while driving along at a good 60-65 mph. No worries, my husband drove while I snapped the photos. I was a little disappointed that my photo doesn’t show the light blue in that center where it goes back in but believe me, in reality, your eye is pulled back into the trees.

 

P1160031.JPG
Painting #2 on Winsor Newton 140# 11 x 14 inches

Odd seeing views of this sort from me, isn’t it? Of the valley! The flat lands! I have to admit it has inspired me to the point of feeling like I am obsessed. I love the river, the mountains but for some reason these valley scenes brought out a creative side that has me feeling like I going 60 mph!

 

P1160034.JPG
Painting #3 on Winsor Newton 140# 11 x 14 inches

This painting doesn’t show the expanse in this photo but I tried to marry it up to the real painting. I am going to work on making these kind of paintings “lay down” better. Something to work on in the future.

 

P1160037.JPG
Painting #4 on Winsor Newton 140# 11 x 14 inches

This painting I purposely went for shapes and color. True, I could have modeled the bushes better but then again I am after feeling and the gist of the scene.

 

P1160039.JPG
Painting #5 on Winsor Newton 11 x 14 inches

This particular painting is a wip and I am not convinced that it will work. I included it just because. I might work on it more or put it in the “failed” pile. I could not get the colors to marry up with the actual painting.

Have you noticed that I have used Winsor Newton watercolor paper with these? I simply turned over failed paintings from when I first started painting with watercolors and at the time I bought a lot of the paper. Actually I like the paper because of the weave surface.

I am a bit tired and need to put these post up. I have been painting a solid 4 days, I need to rest my eyes and brain.

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Valley Scenes

    1. thank you!…..I should call these my flatlander series! Yes, larger scale is different and new to me and everyone that follow my blog. I guess I usually go for the landscape portrait, I plan on doing more of the large scale. Have to change it up now and then!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Another Valley Scene – Yuba Gold

  2. Pingback: Landscapes Galore – Yuba Gold

Leave a Reply

