Valley Bliss

 

P1160080.JPG
on Saunders 300# 11 x 14 inches

I am on a roll and wanted to post one more time today. I tried something different for me and that was to paint on large piece of plastic board and over saturated both sides of my paper to keep it damp longer. I have to admit I loved this painting experience. It allowed me to give my painting a soft and diffused appearance.

I had enough time today to start on another painting but need to assess it to see if it needs anymore work. I am losing daylight so that tells me that it is the end of my day of painting.

Tomorrow is my day of rest so no painting for me, time to recharge. Have a wonderful weekend!

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

23 thoughts on “Valley Bliss

  1. love the gentle mood and atmosphere with depth you achieved with this process Margaret; the sky and the background have lovely recession!!
    it is always, a Great and wonderful thing when the ‘doing’ has been a truly enjoyable process…. F a b u l o u s!! resting, is of course a needful thing. enjoy! YRF 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Valley Bliss — Yuba Gold – ShayDbooks

  3. This is my new favorite! I really like the subtle pinks in the sky and the and the progression of the light to dark from the distance to foreground area. Brava! (brava for a women bravo for a man it is my Italian language tidbit for today)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Let’s see, not sure what the plastic is but you find it in hardware stores and it is about 1/4 thick and I think that I cut this piece on my own. They have special tools that you buy that cuts it very easily….probably less than $5 for the tool. I had it lying around and I remember watching Sarah Yeoman in a video use this technique. You wet both sides pretty sloppy wet and then wipe down the edges of the board around your paper. It keeps fairly damp almost during the entire painting process. It is very fun. Google Sarah Yeoman and in one or two of her videos you’ll see that she does this. I used the plastic (mylar?) because when the paper is saturated like that, it sticks like glue to your sheet of plastic, so you don’t have to tape it or worry that it will move as you paint. Good luck! If you can’t seem to find what it is called, let me know and I’ll find the name of that plastic board. I would assume that you could have it cut for you in different sizes at a hardware store. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Margaret! I will check out Sarah’s video. I am surprised you buy it at the hardware store! I love the results you got with it. Thank you for sharing the info with me. 😄🎨👍

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

