January Chilling

Painting #1 “Cascade” semi-abstract of falls

I can’t believe how fast this month has flown! I finally received my paper and yet already worrying about running out! In reality I have a lot of paper but I am not wanting to hold back for any reason.

The painting above was painted fast and furiously, which is my favorite way to paint. It keeps me from second guessing myself and truth be told I love the excitement of painting by the seat of my pants!

Painting #2 “Clear Skies At Bullards” 11 x 14 inches

I hike at Bullards reservoir about 3-4 times a week, sometimes more. I am planning on painting this area more simply because it is near and dear to my heart.

Painting #3 untitled 11 x 15 inches

I originally had gone out one early morning to plein air paint. I was perched on a slope and I was not having an easy time of it. I decided to watch the sunrise and when I got home, I decided to paint the experience from memory. It was the first time I have ever painted from my memory, now it is my preferred method of painting.

Painting #4 untitled

This is yet another painting of an area along the North Yuba which intrigues me. It is about a 20 minute drive to the trailhead.

Painting #5 “Glow” 11 x 14 inches

Another painting of Bullards. I enjoyed painting this but the slow build up of layers started to get my doubt to churning. I would like to try it again and strive for more dynamic looseness.

Painting #6 “Evening at Bullards II” 11 x 14 inches

I initially liked this one, though the headlands look a bit too uncertain. All in all it is another attempt at capturing my local haunt.

Painting #7 “Time” 11 x 14 inches

A fun painting, an imaginescape as I like to call them.

I think that is about all for now. This month has been stressful and yet fun. Stressful because of not knowing how long the government shutdown will last. My husband has been on furlough for almost a month now. We are lucky to have such a wonderful bank because I don’t think that our savings alone could have carried us this far. I am also happy that our house, car and motorcycle are paid off and in the clear. Thank goodness for that! Here’s to counting our blessings and having more time with my husband and more painting!

12 thoughts on “January Chilling

  1. Oh so wonderful to see these beauties! I am especially drawn to the second one!
    Sorry to hear about your hubby’s job during this stressful time. Glad you mortgage and car payment free! That sure helps!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lovely to see you here Margaret…and your beautiful work. I love the waterfall. At such difficult times, for you in the States and for us to in the UK….it is important to count one’s blessings. I always say to myself if all my needs are met, I am a very fortunate person. .

    Happy New Year and painting.

    Janet 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment