Mystical Waterfalls

 

P1190021.JPG
on Lanaquarelle watercolor paper 140# 15 x 21 inches (half sheet)    

Finally finished with my latest waterfall which is by far my favorite. I wanted to use my imagination, so I listened to music and imagined away. Sometimes my inner creative shows up Oriental which is fine with me because I admire their view point. With this one I used my intuition and painted only the bare essentials to give you the gist of a roaring waterfall. I took quite a few breaks and didn’t rush it. If I didn’t feel it, I didn’t paint.

I painted wet on wet in some areas and dry on others, I wanted a little of a change-up within the painting which I feel gives it more creative pull and push, ying and yang, I believe the term is. I love this paper because it has a scratchy surface and dry brush is so addicting because of this feature. It is fast becoming one of my favorite papers.

This is one painting that I plan on framing, that is how much I love it.

Daniel Smith colors used: Burnt Sienna, Ultramarine Blue, Cobalt Blue, Indigo, Quin. Gold, Prussian Blue, Hansa Yellow Medium

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

43 thoughts on “Mystical Waterfalls

  1. It’s wonderful. So many things happening inside it. I can see what you mean about the wet on wet verses the dry brush passages. Absolutely lovely spectacle. You should definitely frame it. It’s gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. How wonderful that you feel that way with certain paintings. And the painting is gorgeous and it will also be there to remind you of the pleasure you had in making it. A great two-fer for sure. I’m sure it’s the beginning of a wonderful path.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. beautiful! wet in wet, melting and merging. the flow of everything worked!
    its days like these, that leave deep lasting, imprints on us … of good and beauty, love and joy and hope. Thats how I feel, when I have, One of Those, days. cheers, debi

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my goodness, as soon as I saw this one, I went Wow. This is coming from such a different place within you…..and really connects with having ‘technical prowess and marrying that with the intangible’ which you have clearly done here. Bravo…..Janet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! you said in words what I have been searching for, I sensed it but had yet to figure it out, what you wrote is spot on. I think that is why I enjoyed, no loved painting this because I sensed the two marrying up and something was different. Thank you for your insight because not only is knowledge power, but understanding is as well. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is lovely and so full of emotion. The cliff sides seem to be flowing with the stream, as if in empathy. It’s is always so interesting to hear how you go about each painting, what you bring to it, What is the paper that you used and liked so much?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! You put that so poetically, I love it 🙂 the paper is from France and it is Lanaquarelle 140# and a sheet of it is $7.85 at Dickblick. Well worth it, since it is more expensive than Arches, I like it better than Arches. Like I said, the texture is wonderful and I like a paper that feels like it responds when I paint on it.

      Like

  5. Hiya, Margaret. I am not sure if you’re aware of this but WordPress is recommending your posts to me in Reader instead of showing your actual posts in my feed, even though I am a subscriber. Please assume that it is happening with your other subscribers. They may not be seeing your posts for this reason. If there is a way for you to alert them about this hiccup, please do.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. To most, it seem as if their viewing audience is dwindling. Some readers may you out but the vast majority will assume you’re not posting. Best of luck, Margaret. xo

        Like

  6. Jodi, I have a question for you, someone tells me that my posts doesn’t come up in their feed even though they are a subscriber. She says that my post is “suggested” but that is all. Do you see my post in your feed at all when I post new ones? thanks in advance!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I loved the green and yellow you used at the back of the painting. Made me think of light and new life flowing into the waterfall. Thanks for sharing. I have a poetry blog here on WordPress and today’s poem is about a double rainbow in case you have time to look? Colourful greetings, Sam 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

