Madrone Madness #3

P1090671.JPG
Painting #1 Saunders cp 200# 10 x 14

I decided to put the first painting in after taking another look. Not as bad as I thought….oh I don’t know! I am not too keen on those leaves that I decided needed to be there but at least the lighting is beautiful.

 

P1090666.JPG
painting #2 Saunders cp #200 10 x 14 inches

I figure that my madrone tree series require a category all to itself. I have so many large madrones on the property, I could paint 100 paintings and still keep at it. The only thing with madrones is that they are an evergreen, so I won’t have much variety other than the lighting, the surrounding environment or time of day. I will be painting in all angles, different groups, the more I looked around the more I realized, dang, there are a lot of large madrones here! I think Monet had painted his pond and garden many, many times.

These madrones were painted yesterday morning. This morning while I was preparing my coffee, I noticed the lighting that always seem to suck me in but I resisted, yay me. It was 7 in the morning and I convinced myself that it is too late, it worked (this time).

I encountered several problems for painting #2, such as the background foliage, there was a myriad of light, foliage and drama in the background but I struggled with trying to marry that up with the focal point.

My learning points:

  • With this painting, I focused too much on “how do I do this” which cut my freedom of expressing in half, I faltered, which affected the painting.
  • Continuing to learn values and color relationship, very important.
  • Be decisive! Be Bold, it won’t break me or my brush.
  • Choose my focus, is it the background lighting or what is in front of my eyes, choose! I can’t have it all, quick, decide.
  • Painting en plein air is important because while I painted these madrones I kept thinking that if I didn’t do all this painting with the subject in front of me, I couldn’t do these madrones justice. Madrones has this beautiful red quality to the bark and interlaced with black and burnt sienna. My personal experience with painting en plein air keeps me striving to keep the integrity of the subject true. I can’t do this without personal observation and experience.
21 thoughts on “Madrone Madness #3

  1. The tree looks powerful somehow. The way you’ve drawn it, I mean. I think it wants to become the subject matter. I had to look up madrone tree. I’d never heard the word before your posts, but then I’ve never been to the west coast. We have no madrone trees in Maryland and we are the poorer for it. There’s another use for art — to spread round the images of things.

    From what I’m reading about the tree on wiki, sounds like its bark is richly colored. Seems like the kind of thing that Monet would love. Sounds like you’ve found your inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a little jealous that you have lots of madrone trees! Your paintings reflect the spirit of the tree. Have you ever used any part of the tree for food/beverages? I bought a book a few years back, by a local (gold country) author, with recipes using local ingredients. I remember that there was several using madrone berries, bark, and even leaves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

