Springs of Joy

Photo of a coastal Redwood at Hendy Woods State Park

My husband and I were planning on a motorcycle camping trip to Hendy Woods State Park. Due to a change of weather, we decided to take our car. After our initial disappointment, we decided to make the most of it, all in all it was worth it.

After receiving 3.5 inches of rain the largest redwood grove in the park was magical. I will be painting from my reference photos and memory in upcoming weeks.

Painting #1 “Bullards Bar Dreaming” – 11 x 14 inches

This past week spent I focused on painting my local haunt, Bullards Bar Reservoir.

Painting #2 untitled – 11 x 14 inches

Another view of Bullards. I hike there at least three times a week, it never gets old.

Painting #3 “Evening Glow” – 11 x 14 inches

I wasn’t sure if this one work, I kept at it until I got the feeling and look that satisfied me. I am after more than merely painting a subject.

Photo of the main redwoods grove at Hendy Woods State Park

Lucky me, I have been thoroughly enjoining our extended spring. So much inspiration everywhere I look, be looking for new paintings of redwoods!

5 thoughts on “Springs of Joy

Leave a comment