April Ending

Painting #1 “Heaven Calling” – imaginescape – 11 x 14 inches

I was able to get some painting in today once I got back from caretaking my father-in-law. I couldn’t help but think of him as I finished up with this painting.

He is mentally preparing himself for life beyond this one. We were able to talk some about heaven and what to expect. Even though he is a ripe 95 year old, life seems to move along rather quickly.

Painting #2 untitled – based on Bullards Bar reservoir – 11 x 14 inches

I always love painting sunsets at Bullards. I need to get out there and plein air paint soon. One of my favorite places, of course I am inspired by it.

Painting #3 Rising Up – semi-abstract of Sand Pond

About two years ago I was at Sand Pond which lies at the base of the Sierra Buttes. I arrived early in the morning and Sand Pond was so beautiful and misty. So far I have based at least 5 or more paintings on the photos that I took. Right now it is covered in snow. I am hoping to get up there to plein air paint once they plow the road. Sometimes that doesn’t happen until May or as late as June.

When I paint from an inspiring photo, I use my imagination and allow my intuition to take over, my preferred method of painting.

I usually share more paintings but I am purposely limiting my posts to the top 3-4 paintings on Instagram and on here. I really like posting only once a week, it keeps me focused on creating rather than using up my time posting.

Have a wonderful week!

11 thoughts on “April Ending

Leave a comment