Another View of Goose Lake

 

I had a difficult time getting  my photo to marry up with my painting but I tried, keep that in mind.

 

P1190939
Goose Lake on Lanaquarelle 140# quarter sheet

I have been working on multiple paintings and this one is pretty much finished though I might put in a few dark sections in the back woods. Goose Lake is up in the same area as the Sierra Buttes and for some reason I am intrigued with this view. Here are my previous posts of Goose Lake: Goose Lake in Sierra County and Pastel of Goose Lake and last but not least Acrylic of Goose Lake.

As I worked on the above painting, I kept to an over-all feeling and gist of Goose Lake and tried not to rely solely on my reference photo. I like to imagine myself at the scene, hearing the birds, feeling the environment as I paint. I usually listen to music that helps me to imagine that I am there, in this case Native American flute music. Often when I paint a forest scene, I will listen to nature and bird sounds or lately Chinese music.

Again I truly feel that it is important to paint what you know and love, but that is my own personal prerequisite. I worked on this painting (as I am accustomed to do) when I am in the zone. Once I feel my artist eye or view wane, I step away. The sky, backwoods were painted wet on wet. I went back in to put in some calligraphy. I took more care with painting the trees in the front.

Lately my goal is not to be precise or detailed, I want the essence of a scene, there is something appealing to me about this approach.

Colors used: Aureolin, Cobalt Blue, Prussian Blue, Ultramarine Blue, Quin. Gold, Moonglow

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Another View of Goose Lake

  1. This is a beauty and indeed you have captured the essence of the scene. I also enjoy listening to soothing music as I paint…your choices are really lovely. When I look at your paintings I am taken in every sense to your part of the world….filled with natural beauty. Thank you so much Janet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arletta Ellington

    I liked to read your reflections about your perception of the scene. And about the techniques and methods you want to use in order to make your vision of the scene visible. It’s theory in the way I’ve always liked it – as thinking with care about things of great importance.
    Ellington

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Margaret! This is so beautiful! I enjoyed looking at the variety of art mediums you used for this scene. I like how each one captures the mood a little differently. I get a serene feeling in this painting. I love the vibrant colors in your pastel one too. You are so very talented in all these art mediums! 🎨👍 I like your idea of painting like you are there and interpreting the feeling or mood when you create a painting. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

