Sand Pond and Semi-abstract

 

 

P1190744.JPG
painting #1 on Fabriano 300# quarter sheet
I felt like a wet on wet painting day going for an atmospheric minimal kind of approach. This photo doesn’t show the depth of color as it should but you get the idea. This is the second time I have painted this particular scene which is Sand Pond looking away from the Sierra Buttes, here is that post (painting #2)  Watercolor Mayhem. I might bring in just a tad more value changes but then I might leave it alone. I have found that Fabriano is wonderful for wet on wet work. After using other papers, Fabriano doesn’t have the texture that I adore. I want a paper that has a responsive surface, Fabriano has a cardboard feel to me. I do enjoy using the Softpress variety of Fabriano, so when I discovered that Fabriano is perfect for wet on wet, I decided that I will be buying more of it. One of my favorite artists, Cheng-Khee Chee uses Fabriano for his saturated wet on wet work. I almost decided not to buy it again, I am so happy that I changed my mind. It is also perfect in wiping off color to the white of the paper with this technique.
colors used: Aureolin, Quin. Sienna, Prussian Blue, Indathrone Blue, Quin. Gold, Cerulean Blue

 

P1190746
painting #2 wip on Arches 300# rough quarter sheet

This is a painting that I started over a week ago as a plein air and I am not so sure if it is finished or not. It started out as a waterfall but I liked it turned around and now it looks like an abstract river landscape. I have been keeping it up where I can easily view it and as I see what I need to do, I work on it, otherwise it sits quietly waiting. What’s the rush?

colors used: Cerulean Blue, Burnt Sienna, Ultramarine Blue, Hansa Yellow Med., Green Gold

Learning Points:

  • Wet on wet is fun!
  • Starting a painting without drawing exercises the artistic eye, no harm done.
  • Don’t be afraid to let a painting sit unfinished, sometimes it takes a bit to cook a fantastic painting.

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Sand Pond and Semi-abstract

  1. Love the first image and very interesting to compare with the Watercolour Mayhem version….I think I prefer this one…I love your more intuitive work. I also like what you have done with the second image…and do prefer it as an expressive river painting, rather than a waterfall…
    I have been using Saunders & Waterford papers for some time now..both NOT and hot pressed. Hope you are enjoying a lovely creative Memorial Day weekend…janet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, I prefer this one and I believe that you are right, my creative inner self comes out when I paint intuitively. After all that part of myself knows exactly what to do, when I don’t know what to do, trust what naturally happens. Mind boggling isn’t it? 😉

      Like

  2. The first one Margaret is just stunningly beautiful – I love the way you’ve captured the reflections in the water! I love wet in wet watercolour effects. The second is beautiful too – it works really well as an abstract river landscape. You are an inspiration to me…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dawnmarie

    I like your experiments. I think number two is my favorite of these two. Funny though, because I know you did it, my mind totally goes to river and even though it is an abstract, I totally see river. Also went back to the first painting you linked and was reading your commentary on it…I like that painting! You had some harsh criticism of your painting in that post and I wonder if you would say the same thing if you looked at it again with different eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

