Old River Haunts

 

P1170452
painting #1 on Canson Heritage 140# quarter sheet  

On this painting I wanted to practice a little detail work rather than full blast “see what happens”. I enjoyed it though I would like to make that right bank of rocks not appear so mushy and yet I do have a desire to detail an entire painting. I might give it more definition where needed. My favorite area is perhaps the bold light and the distant rocks in the background, love that area! I am going to make notes on how I painted them and the colors that I used. Here are several posts about painting this same spot: Revisit to A Yuba River Scene and A Look Back .

 

P1170449.JPG
painting #2 wip on Canson Heritage 140# on half sheet

Of course I just have to tackle the Sierra Buttes yet again, imagine that! Obviously I am not finished but wanted to show my progress. I am really loving this paper because it has such a wonderful texture in that it is scratchy which makes dry brush so fun. Also I have discovered that this paper is very forgiving and you can lift paint quite well, right back to white, always a plus!

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

 

36 thoughts on “Old River Haunts

  1. dawnmarie

    Very very nice light n that first one. I’m with ya. I don’t think you need to do anything to it at all. My eyes go right where they should! Can’t wait to see the finished second painting.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. dawnmarie

        You are welcome. I’m doing okay. Counting down the days. I have painted a little but not much at all. I was getting ready to post one actually. I can do the palette knife somewhat with my casted hand so I just went with it. I used some left hand but I tried to use my right when I could.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. dawnmarie

        I’m thinking of this as a time when I don’t have to do a darn thing if I don’t want to..land if I do get anything productive done…yippie! I just posted it for ya.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. These are both really wonderful — and each so different. The differences must, I’m sure, give each painting additional energy. What you get from the one, helps the other and vice versa. Both pictures have a wonderful sense of presence — clearly you’re in control. But they also have a tremendous feeling of spontaneity and freedom, as though the pictures are just painting themselves. The pictures of the last post were so strong too in similar ways. You are really mastering this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Aletha, I spend enough time at it, I better be! ha! Talking about memory…..because I have painted so often at each spot and the scene, I pulled what I remembered and experienced while I painted them. That alone is the reason why one should be painting from life and if not, at least sit in front of that subject and look, feel and even smell it. Thank you for your observations and comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely, Margaret – especially the light! You should be really pleased with it! I don’t think the rocks in the middle distance need any more definition, but, it’s your work and you get to see it closer up than I do! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hilda! I am a lover of light and I worked very carefully to bring it up to the right value and drama. I do feel pleased. I was concerned about the rocks on the right but I do want them to be out of focus and in its place and I will leave them alone for now. I agree, those rocks in the middle distance should be totally left alone.

      Like

    1. It has a wonderful surface, it was painted dry on dry for the most part. Soften edges were done on purpose, esp. on the rocks on the right….wanted them to stay back. I have used this paper a few times wet on wet and it dries board flat and takes a beating, which I love.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ahhhh….. what a DeLight to my eyes Margaret!! love love love #1 with its silky smooth transitions of warm to cools that are perfection. WELL DONE! your water – warmer and slides to cooler. your background that is Fab!! very exciting 🙂 and I love your mountains in #2 You work is so lovely. Cheers!! YRF

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

