Semi-abstract Forest and Leaf

 

P1160235.JPG
painting #1 on Fabriano #300 11 x 14 inches

As I am working on a painting using Jodi’s photo, I decided to see if I could pull something out of a chaotic mess of a forest scene that I started a few weeks ago. I like to work on several paintings while waiting on one to dry, I grab another painting or start one. It seems to work for me because I get my eyes and mind off from the current painting. I almost threw it away but after looking at it, by instinct knew what to do. I am after expression and sometimes that perfectionist in me wants to rule the artist roost, I don’t think so!

The painting above reminds me of some Canadian artists’ work that I admire. I think that what intrigues me about the art that has come out that great country is not only the beauty of nature but how the artist conveys it. Not only the majesty, but an essence that I can’t quite put my finger on. I am a great fan of the Group of Seven, a group of artists that painted the landscape of Canada.

 

P1160238.JPG
painting #2 on Arches 300# 11 x 14 inches

The above painting was also one that I started on the weekend. I wanted to take a photo that I had shot of a leaf under the water and see what I can do with it. The intention was to semi-abstract the subject. At least it was fun and a good learning process in the meantime. That picky nature of me wants to take the helm and trash it to bits but then I am after feeling and not perfection. So there you go!

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Semi-abstract Forest and Leaf

  1. OHHHHHHH Margaret! Just logging in for the evening and BLOWN AWAY by these two pieces! How your art is evolving! The first one just caught my breath and made me smile. Such a lovely and magical feel to it. Oh How I would love to see how you do it! Maybe one of these days you will create videos??!! 🙂 and then I scrolled to the second one…….and i GASPED!!!!!! I cannot believe it even crossed your mind to trash it!!!!!! It might be one of my all time favorites! Absolutely STUNNING! I would so love to know how you did it! If you ever get the urge to travel my direction in the world, I would so love to meet up and learn from you! Just blown away!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My goodness, I guess I am shocked that you love them….lol….you have to realize that this is the new “loosen up me” because I would have not even bothered posting them. But now I am a new and reformed perfectionist! I should start blogging more about my process. I am so much in a hurry sometimes to get my post out there that I don’t bother. But then what is my hurry? I have oodles of time on my hands. Anyway, thank you for your kind words and if I am ever out that way in your part of the world, I definitely will drop by and visit….also the same with you. 😉 I would have to have my daughter or someone help with the video part but that sure sounds like fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the forest painting in particular – has an exotic feel to it.
    A favourite painting (it’s hard to choose, so it’s all relative) of the Group of Seven, is A. Y. Jackson’s The Winter Road – if that is the right name for the painting, but I like it for the boldness.
    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I will have to look up that particular painting….I love A. Y. Jackson….all of them. Poor Emily Carr wasn’t officially part of the group but still….love her work. I actually thought of her when finishing that painting. I sure will enjoy my week….guess what I’ll be doing? wild guess…painting!! ha! 😉

      Like

  3. I love these Margaret. As soon as I saw the first one I was transported to a tropical jungle with palm trees (which I realise that’s not what you were painting, but I really wish I was there on this boring Wednesday). The color on the second painting is so brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

