Glory Be!

 

P1160022.JPG
Glory Be on Arches rough 300# 10.5 x 13.5 inches

I have been busy with painting every day and loving every moment. I think that for now I am allowing myself to veer in the direction that my creative spirit thrives in. Such as the painting  above. I didn’t want to fiddle around with all the little shrubbery, rocks and gravel so I decided to abstract that jumble of detail.

 

P1110897 (2).JPG
my reference photo

I might work on this painting more and maybe not! I will let it sit for a while and we’ll see. I like this no pressure approach, it truly works for me. I can’t emphasize how important it is to get out in nature to experience it fully if you plan on painting it. I love painting portraits, you wouldn’t think that I do if you have been following my blog because you never see them!

As a child the landscape has always pulled me, intrigued me to no end. While people tire of looking at landscapes whiz by while on road trips, my spirit soared. It wasn’t until I started plein air painting and hiking out to get to my spot to paint, that this love came to a deep realization.

Know your subject and paint what you love, I can’t emphasize that enough. True, I love portraits but right now I think that I love landscape more. Yes, I am a loner, perhaps that has something to do with it?

Have a wonderful weekend!

*A word about photos. The photos on my blog are mine, taken by me and copying them would be stealing from me. If you find a photo that you would like to copy or use, I request that you ask me for permission and I expect you to give me full credit for my own photo. Thank you so very much.

 

 

27 thoughts on “Glory Be!

    1. Thank you John…..lately I have been feeling like I have won the artist lottery or something. My latest 4 or 5 paintings are different and so fun. I can’t wait to share them. 🙂 Letting go and just painting with freedom and a loose attitude has been eye opening and a blessing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wished! my cell phone doesn’t take good photos, either they are washed out or just plain off. I detest how they look. I was hoping to be able to post from my computer but apparently they don’t have the capability yet…or the app, I should say. What kind of phone do you have?

        Like

  1. Pingback: Busy with Landscapes – Yuba Gold

  2. Pingback: North Valley to the Mountains – Yuba Gold

Leave a Reply

